Posted by: Edinburgh cake | 30/01/2011

Sky Bar and hidden gems in Edinburgh

Since I last blogged, I’ve finally got over an attack of the winter lurgy which saw my lose my appetite (always a first for everything).  This has somewhat hampered my ability to go out and eat and   I only just managed along to the Point Hotel’s new Sky Bar on Thursday night which had the most fantastic views of the Castle through their floor to ceiling glass windows.

View from Sky Bar

On Friday I booked some trips out of Edinburgh thanks to Ryanair and Jet2go ‘s amazing offers at the moment.  I’m heading to Tallinn followed by a trip into Budapest and out of Bratislava.

I also decided to start baking again.  BIG mistakes.  The reason I don’t bake like my wonderful friend Lea Harris (aka @bakersbunny) is because I would just eat everything I made.  I put this to the teston Saturday afternoon when I made banana loaf.  Things have changed since my Ladybird ‘Cook with mother’ book.  I googled a recipe on my iPad and propped it up in its stand to follow.

One hour later, my boyfriend and I were wolfing down the banana cake in one big hit. I would have made more if I had any ripe bananas left, but it wasn’t to be.

First home baking in 15 years

Our new food reviewer Chiara Pannozzo (even with that name, she was born and brought up in Edinburgh) visited Illegal Jacks and was amazed at the size of her burrito in the review.

On twitter today, I’ve been posting hidden gems of Edinburgh for all our new followers –  since they were first published last year.

1.  Kyoto Friendship Garden

2.  Dr Neil’s Garden

3.  Wild West Morningside.

The week ahead is a busy time which many involves eating and catching up with school friends now that the lurgy has well and truly left me.


Leave a comment

Categories